Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

What genre is my novel? (1 Viewer)

Taylor

Staff member
Global Moderator
I understand that it is important to have a genre to pitch your novel to agents and eventually to market it effectively. I have been drafting my story for about 11 months and have just been listening to my own inner voice while writing. Basically, I established the ‘genre’ by writing something that I personally would like to read. But now, I’m uncertain what to call it, so that agents can recognize where it might fit into a popular genre.

The story takes place in New York, and Vegas. The plot is based on true events of a white collar crime that took place in the financial industry, i.e. Wall Street, during 1999 to 2002. All of the corporations and characters are fictitious, but I have used actual timelines of the events and many of the characters are loosely based on real people. The protagonist is a financial journalist, and the POV is limited to her and two of her close friends. These three ladies are all connected to other people who get caught up in the crime inadvertently. So, none of the characters have ill intent. There’s only one sort of villainous character, but he’s not extremely evil, just misguided by greed.