Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

What did you learn from writing your last book? (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

indianroads

Staff member
Global Moderator
When I was a Silicon Valley Design Engineer I always made a point to do a post mortem at the conclusion of every project. I would look at what worked well, what I could have done better, and what ended up being a hot mess. I do the same with my writing.

I'm a plotter, so over the course of my book releases I've revised a lot my techniques for character and plot development. I've gone from everything hand written in note books, to various MS word formats, and excel spread sheets. These changes work for ME, and probably won't help anyone else - which is partly why I shun 'how-to' courses by 'best selling' authors. (Note that most of those best selling authors mostly sell how-to books.)

For my next book, I'm using excel more than I have in the past, because plots using lists inside word tend to get jumbled. Also, with excel I have have separate sheets for characters and various plot points.

So let's share what works for us, maybe it will provide a seed for something that will work for others.

• Thanks
Reactions: PiP

bdcharles

Wɾ¡ʇ¡∩9
Staff member
Media Manager
I learned that I can't seat-of-my-pants my way through a novel. If I don't outline, I don't finish. Pure and simple.