Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

The Inheritance Series (Eragon, Eldest) vs. The Harry Potter series (1 Viewer)

BeautifulDisaster

Which series is better? The Inheritance Series by Christopher Paolini or the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling? Why?

I like them both equally for different reasons. Although I'm just beginning to read Eldest.

The Harry Potter series is amazing. I love the magical world J.K. Rowling's created, how she describes it and the characters she creates. I think the main reason I love her books is because she created a secret world living in the real world, unbeknownst to most muggles.

The Inheritance Series is also equally amazing. I love the fact that dragons can read their riders thoughts. That's the only reason I can think of right now.

I don't read fantasy too often, but I'll make an exception for those books.

Are there any other great fantasy books out there (I've tried reading Lord of the Rings.. but I couldn't)?

Omnisu

Try the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Or The Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin. Or The Kingdom of Thorn and Bone series by Greg Keyes. Those are my three current 'open' series (That is; I'm eagerly awaiting the next book in each of them).