Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

The Cliff Diving Dilemma - 300 word flash fiction (1 Viewer)

mblank

Hi everyone. I'm new to writing forums and this is the first story I'm posting. I appreciate any comments or thoughts!

The Cliff Diving Dilemma

Pretty Pete stood staring over the precipice, his mouth drying as he gazed at the sparkling water sixty feet below. He glanced at the girls standing behind him with his friend, then looked back to the water. He swallowed.

“You going to jump?” Alan asked, his eyebrows arched with arrogance.

Pete gritted his teeth. “Give me a minute.”

“Chicken.” Alan pushed him, and he stumbled to keep his footing.

“So you do it then,” he shot back. He’d had a chance with Joanna before Alan suggested this stupid stunt. She was the one who’d called him pretty. Now her lips curled up with disdain.

“Are you boys okay?” she teased. Her friend, Heather, stood beside her, giggling at their dilemma.

Pete felt a flush color his back. He leaned closer to Alan and whispered. “I’m not going until you go.”

“Not happening,” Alan returned. “This peak didn’t look so crazy from below. You first.”

“No way. It’s suicide, man!” Pete’s hue brightened as the girls made chicken squawks.

Alan shot a look at Heather. “Okay. I’m doing it.” He strode to the edge and looked over. The girls cheered.