Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Suggestions For Writing In the Perspective of a Woman (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

LoveofWriting

How do I do that? I am writing a story that has a woman in it and I need answers to how I can write like one? I am a male writer who has a main character as woman. Does anyone have any novels where a woman is the main character? Or self-help books to help me with this challenge?

KeganThompson

How do I do that? I am writing a story that has a woman in it and I need answers to how I can write like one? I am a male writer who has a main character as woman. Does anyone have any novels where a woman is the main character? Or self-help books to help me with this challenge?
What, in particular, are you struggling with? Is there certain areas you feel you need perspective on more than others? Is it in the first or third person? What genre is the story?
Breaking it down into smaller bits and looking at it that way may help. I recommend you read books with the genre you are writing with a female lead. That may help

PiP

Staff member
Co-Owner
This discussion might help with your conundrum

Try eavesdropping on women's conversations.

Non Serviam

WF Veterans
How do I do that?

Don't try to write from a woman's point of view, or your attempt will ring false.