Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

*stumbles onstage* (1 Viewer)

piperofyork

Friends of WF
Hi everyone,

I hope you are all well. I'm a teacher who has been writing stories in one way or another since I was yay-high or thereabouts. I've been working on my first novel for the last five years or so, and happily I'm getting fairly close to the end of the first draft, although a great deal of editing awaits. (Thanks to my day job, I can usually only make serious progress in the summer; hence my turtling writing output.) I've gotten to the point where I enjoy writing more than my day job - which is saying a lot, because I still love teaching. I joined Writing Forums to improve my skills and to get to know the writing community - and the business of writing - better. Not to flirt with a tautology, but I'm looking forward to my future here!

Best,

Piper

P.S. For reasons far beyond my ken, an avatar that I used when I was part of a gaming community long ago automatically loaded itself when I registered. Seeing it was a bit like seeing a ghost of my younger self in the mirror. I apologize if it comes across as sophomoric.

Taylor

Staff member
Global Moderator
Welcome, Piper! I'm also fairly close to the end of the first draft of my first novel. This is a great place to hang out and learn a few things about writing along the way.

Is your novel of a specific genre?