Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Some of my columns if anyone wanted to see! (1 Viewer)

Loulou

WF Veterans
Well, I've been here a month or two so I thought I'd post some of my weekly columns in case anyone wanted a peek. I've been doing this for five years, one a week, 500 words. They're by no means literary, just a 'slice of life' as the newspaper call it. I'll paste on here some of my recent ones as when I scanned and resized the actual columns the words were unreadable. However I've also added scans so you can get what they look like when they go into print. Enjoy - or not!:)

Louise Beech 02/01/07
Main Bit - 322 words

“Are you sure you don’t want to eat out as a family for your birthday?” I asked Conor. “Sure,” he said. “Completely?” I pestered like an annoying child. “Completely,” he said.
Yes, my son is 16 years wise this week and, quite understandably, doesn’t want to celebrate it with his near-death over-the-hill mother, slipper-wearing father or irritating little sister wearing a Belle dress and Darth Vadar head.
He’s an adult in some senses but just a teenager in others. Height-wise he’s been an adult since he was four. Discussion-wise he’s been a teenager since he could speak.
I’m not sure if old age has rendered me forgetful but the teenager years have not thus far caused quite the torture I expected. Greif yes. Exhaustion yes. Torture? Not totally.