Writingforums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Sci-Fi and Wizardry. How Can I Make It Work (2 Viewers)

Hi. I am trying to mix Sci-Fi with Harry Potter style of magical world. I have a shaky storyline, but as I am a new writer I am just having issues with how to make the characters of novel work and come to life. Any ideas or suggestions would be great.

epimetheus

Friends of WF
So the problem is not so much do to with combining magic and sci-fi, but the characters?

A common trap to make is to focus loads on world building and/or magic systems then tack on some characters as an afterthought.

If that's what you've done then try to think of the world from the protagonists' perspectives. What makes the world come alive for them? How do they balance their understanding of magic and science. What does society have to say about all of this, and how does that impact the characters? Also consider that to avoid info dumps you will want to explain the magic and science through the characters, so we get to see the magic/science from the character's perspective and their reaction to it. Using more intimate character perspectives can help with this - first person, or third person limited.

Thank you. It has given me food for thought. I been trying to write it was out the focus on one character but in fact a crew. Maybe I need to rethink this

John C. Denton

Hi Thomas
Are you BabesJJ's cat?