Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Outlining/ drafting using a script/ screenplay (1 Viewer)

KeganThompson

Staff member
Board Moderator
So I have been experimenting with how I want to outline/develop a story, particularly a novella/ novel-length story. I have enjoyed writing short stories but my end goal is to write novels. As a new writer, I struggle with completing a novel size work. I started two novels when I was in middle school/high school but I had no concept of story structure and i jumped ideas a lot.I never finished one. Fast forward to the beginning of February 2021 I took a gander at writing again. Unfortunately, I still didn't understand story structure that well, and I basically pants myself into a mess✨

I prefer editing over drafting so i plan to write, what i'd like to call "the bare bones" of the current project I'm working on. Complete the draft then fatten her up later. They say taking away is easier than adding but considering I cannot finish a novella or novel from beginning to end, i'd rather beef it up later. if I end up with 30 to 50k words and it has a coherent beginning middle and end that's better than having a 70k with a plotline that is leading who knows where and is unfinished.