Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Now to write about... myself (1 Viewer)

Garlith

Hello, all... I wouldn't say I'm new to writing but I am very unpracticed. My imagination is always running, but it's been a very long time since I've put anything on paper or computer.

I've been into roleplaying games (D&D and Pathfinder) as a way to stretch and practice my ability to get into a character's mind, but now I'm itching to get into writing my own stories.

I've always been odd about sharing my writing, since I write mainly for myself, not others, and I'm stuck in a weird mentality where I'm scared to write anything in case someone else sees it when I'm not ready. I can trace this back to my teen years (10 years ago, the last time I ever really wrote) and all I can think about is my friend critiquing everything I wrote without me asking or even wanting to show them. It bothered me to the point where I made up my own writing system so nobody would ever be able to read what I had written. I still use it to this day, but it's a habit I'm trying to break...

I joined this forum in hopes of seeing how others cope and adapt to their insecurities about writing and maybe make some brainstorming friends.

TheMightyAz

Mentor