Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

My first Thesis (1 Viewer)

Kane

I started back to school in the middle of February as an English Major. Aside from a semester and a half at Art School, this is the first time I've been a student for over 10 years. Unable to find an English class I was scrambling for anyone I could get and finally managed to get into an English 1A class on their 4th meeting. Right away, I found out that my first assignment was to be a Thesis on Civil Disobedience, how conscience plays a part, what responsibility citizens have to their fellow citizens and wether or not violence was ok. We were also suppost to compare/contrast the ideas found in "Letter from a Birmingham Jail" by Martin Luther King, Jr. and Henry David Thoreau's "Civil Disobedience". Wow... I was overwhelmed at first, as that was the first time I had even had the word Thesis directed at me. I had heard teh word before but didn't know what it meant. Anyway, I wrote the essay the morning before it was due, so with no further ado:

I welcome any comments you have to make, good or bad.

An Appeal for a Preemptive Strike