Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

I'm bad at citations - Anyone know how I can get good? (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

bennylava

Hi all. It's been a 15 years since English class in high school, and I studied geology in college so not much help there either. I've written a self-help book and I've got a few citations to put in. However, I feel like I'm bad at citations. Specifically the part about finding credible sources. For example, I need a credible source for "According to psychologists, meaningful work makes people happier and less depressed...". That's something from my book, and although it sounds obvious, I still need to cite a good source for this.

I need to learn the method for finding a credible source. Maybe my concern here isn't warranted, but I'm worried that people will check out my citations and find some flaw in them. Some people seem to really criticize studies, even when they're done in a big university lab qualified people. It occurs to me that just searching google may not be the right answer here.