Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

How to gain Inspiration, making money and not caring about being popular (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

siliconpoetry

Ok. So to start off, I am not a professional at this point nor am I schooled in writing except for college. On that note, I am also an introvert and this shows in my ability to stay afloat as a social butterfly. The reason I mention that is because it seems like my metric of facebook interaction means that I am not in anyway destined for literary greatness. I have the average 200 friends and most of them are high school friends. As a second note on this, I recently posted a story I wrote on scribd for .99 cents. On last check it had over 100 hits but no purchases. I can understand this. At this point I don't feel the need to be rewarded monetarily although that is a future goal. Even having a close friend read and like my story was reward enough. Then again, I am very motivated by money and my metric for success in writing would be a few thousand or more. That said, any suggestions for how I can move past roadblocks and become a notable writer who actually makes money at the craft while still retaining a sort of grassroots appeal.