Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

How do I get my articles published in magazines? (1 Viewer)

C

ChrisL

Hello,

This is my second post to this forum, so I hope y'all forgive me if it's a repeated topic.

I'm a published volunteer journalist for a local weekly paper, Real Change. I'd like to graduate to bigger things, preferably national magazines (and heaven forbid if they actually paid).

I have a couple good ideas for some articles, but how do I sell them? Do I write them first, and send them to the mags? Or send queries to mags instead? OR do I go about and try getting an agent for this? (The mags in question, at least where I'd like to start aiming, are Harper's and the like).

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Chris

mammamaia

This is my second post to this forum, so I hope y'all forgive me if it's a repeated topic.

i replied to your other one with some suggestions for your cover letter...

I'm a published volunteer journalist for a local weekly paper,

as i noted in the other post, while having your writing appear in print could qualify it as being 'published,' if i was an editor reading your submission bio and checking your clips and you hadn't been paid for it, i don't think i'd consider you a 'journalist'...

I'd like to graduate to bigger things, preferably national magazines (and heaven forbid if they actually paid).