Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

How can I be sure this book hasn't already been published? (1 Viewer)

T

TwoPointers

Hi all!

I am new. I have been freelancing part time for the past six months. Doing okay, not great. Lots of irons in the fire but the "big one" still hasn't come around yet :-(

I have an idea for a non-fiction book based on a very interesting family that had some notariety in the late 1800's/early 1900's. I have not been able to find much about them besides old newspaper articles, etc.

Before I think about turning this into a query, is there any definitive way I can find out if there has been a book about them? I have looked everywhere/every how, including having a reference librarian at a university library do a search and so far nothing has turned up. On the other hand, this family is SO very interesting (all members of it, too!) that I can't believe someone hasn't beaten me to the punch.

Any ideas?

Thank you!

Lisa
Ottoline Composition
St. Louis, Missouri

I think you can pretty much assume that you're the first one. You'd be surprised how many people's stories go untold.
Even if it turns out that their story has been published before, it's no big deal. Some stories get repeated all the time (ironic, no?), and there's certainly no way you can get accused of plagiarism.

Lost in Some Story