Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Hi, I'm Jessica (1 Viewer)

J

jnbertoni

Hello everyone. I became a member about a week ago. I'm very new to writing. I feel a bit intimidated being on this website actually. But I have a very strong urge to write a non-fiction book about my crazy job as a hostess in Japan. And I need all the help I can get. I will try to give input on posts whenever I feel I can be of help. Talk to some of you later.

Linton Robinson

Well, first thing, get a nice, sexy avatar.

I have a very strong urge to write a non-fiction book about my crazy job as a hostess in Japan.
Good idea. Japan isn't the ultra-hip ticket it was in the eighties, but you might have a gold mine there.

There are two ways to go with this. Non-fiction memoir. (If you do that, I would heavily recommend you read a book called "Speed Tribes" a great exploration of Japanese sub-cultures and perfectly carried off...taking reportage right up to the edge of fiction) Includes a section on club hostesses, by the way.

Or, use your experiences and surroundings as a backdrop for a novel. A tougher way to go, but if you did it well, it would have better market potential.