Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Hello. (1 Viewer)

P

PseudonymJ

Hi everyone.
I'm currently doing a degree at University (unrelated to writing), which I applied for simply because of its job security at the end of the three year course.
Being on summer holiday, and with plenty of time of my hands, I’ve decided to pursue something I’d really like to do for a change. I want to start writing fiction. Not just fan-fiction, but something that will eventually be worth publishing to somebody.
I'm under no illusion as to how difficult that is, and I also acknowledge that I’m also not the best equipped person to take on this challenge.
I work and learn extremely slowly, I find it hard to buck habits, my grammar is terrible, and I’ve only ever read 3 books in my life (with the exception of academic books.)
However, I feel I have some positive attributes to help me on my way. Although I am young and inexperienced I am certainly not lacking in things to write about. I spend a lot of time in my head, and being of no particular group or minority, I feel I’ve got a very open minded perspective of the world and its people.
This brings me to why I am here. I'm here for your advice to start my journey.
I've done absolutely no writing previously. Where should I start?