Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Engineer, but writer at heart (1 Viewer)

Jaybird

Hello there,

I am a software engineer for an IT company. The work is pretty hectic, (the pandemic certainly doesn't help haha) but manageable. My real dream is to one day write a novel. I'm a very picky reader, and find it hard to commit to books that are considered popular.

That being said, I like reading epic fantasies. Brandon Sanderson is one of my fav authors. So of course would be J.R.R. Tolkein, always loved LOTR. I'm also into military fiction as well.

I'm a bit into anime as well, so I sometimes read light novels. They are pretty fun to read, albeit a tad easy to digest. But fun nevertheless.

Writing is something I always fall back to, no matter how down I'm feeling from life. It's fun breaking down a story and crafting something with your own creative merits. I'm only a beginner though, so it may not be so great, but I'm looking to improve. And, the best way to do that is to simply read more! I only get in 30 min - 1 hour a day of reading, but I make sure to highlight a lot on my kindle and then later reflect on those highlights when I've finished the book.

Taylor

Staff member
Global Moderator