Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Drafts & Editing (2 Viewers)

KatPC

At the beginning of this year I finished my first draft of my 80k novel. Its my first attempt in writing, but during my second draft, I obviously found a lot of mistakes, plot holes, bad grammar, poorly constructed paragraphs ... in short many errors. During the first draft write, a lot of research suggested; just get the whole thing down, it doesn't matter about the mistakes, just finish the damn thing!

I did just this and as a result upon my second draft, I added a lot of necessary details, deleted multiple paragraphs, moved chapters, delayed introduction of characters, as the flow did not seem correct. I could spend weeks on one chapter and still not be fully satisfied. Is this a correct approach to editing? Months passed and the story became so ingrained that I felt I was 'too close' to it, and the process of amendments felt like I was altering too much, the story lost its initial grab thus stopped and began to write some short stories instead.