Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Drafting/revising (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeganThompson

Staff member
Board Moderator
Hi, I am a discovery/pantser writer. I did do a basic timeline for the main events/ ideas of my story, however, I made a big decision to change a main plot point. I am still in the middle of drafting and I know its best to wait to complete (or close to complete) the draft before revising but since I will need to rewrite a good chunk of it, I am having a hard time getting into my story, I have several themes I am trying to connect with previous chapters. Knowing how much I need to change distracts me from continuing with the story. I have written 20 chapters so far and knowing how big of an inconsistent dumpster-fire my draft is, stresses me out a bit and I have a hard time focusing on what I am writing. Any advice? I am a new writer and have not done a full revision either but I think I will enjoy it more than drafting. Thank you!

Jan

Nature never rushes, yet everything is accomplished right on time.

Take your time and revise the things that feel the most out of place. When things looks acceptable, finish the draft. Then, revise from there.

Just my 2 cents.

KeganThompson

Staff member
Board Moderator
Nature never rushes, yet everything is accomplished right on time.