Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Do You Use The Thesaurus to Find New Words or Remind You of Forgotten Words? (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheMightyAz

Mentor
I find this an interesting question. When I use the thesaurus, I don't use it to find words I've never used before, I use it to remind me of words I just couldn't remember off the top of my head. You know ... those words on the tip of your tongue that you just can't find in the vaults of your creative memory.

That's not to say there's anything wrong with finding new words you didn't know and using them. I haven't done that yet on this forum or in any of my stories I've submitted here, but I have definitely done it in the past. In which case, the first thing I'd do is check it in the dictionary and then check its use in Fowlers. Those commas and semicolons separating words in most thesauruses are there for a reason. And even words separated by commas are not always perfect synonyms. Lots of words come with baggage.

You can often spot the thesaurus popping up in people's writing. Those words that sit there oddly out of place, floating in an unmatched style. The reason I'm making this thread is because I wrote a sentence the other day and immediately laughed. I like it and may even leave it but I couldn't help thinking it looked like one of those thesaurus moments.