Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Daddy Fixes My Heart - 643 words (1 Viewer)

I

ihatebeans

Please reply with comments .... I'm a newbie and in desparate need of advice.

Daddy Fixes My Heart

Daddy came to my house on Easter Sunday, 2000. He brought my nieces with him so they could hunt eggs with my daughter. He sat in my living room and talked with me and my husband while the kids colored eggs in the kitchen. The details I remember so vividly. The weather wasn’t good that day so daddy decided he better get back home. Standing in my living room by the back door he bent down to give me a hug and a kiss, like he always did. I told him I loved him, like I always did. His last words to me were “Love you, babe.” He told the kids and my husband good-bye and he left.

That was the last time I saw daddy.

The next evening the phone rang. My mom was frantic. She said daddy had a heart attack and the paramedics were rushing him to the hospital. My family and I loaded up and drove as fast as we could. I prayed the whole time. I just knew he would be okay. Daddy was too strong to die. The doctors would do heart surgery or whatever they had to do and soon daddy would be home. We would carry on with our lives.

He was gone by the time I made it to the hospital.