Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Coping with Eight (1 Viewer)

F

Fade

Here's a small essay I had to write about a disability I possess, please let me know what you think as I am unsure whether I'm a good writer or not...
‘Coping with 8’

Fumbling through the local broadsheet newspaper, or trying to receive change from a cashier in Spar supermarket are minor challenges in every day life, if you can call them that. But, for me they cause great frustration and annoyance. Annoyances that will, probably never go away.
Growing up I was always considered ‘a little disabled‘, if there is such a thing, and I embraced that label. Life without thumbs was my physical downfall and although 8 is an even number, it is still two ’digits’ less than a more acceptable 10, when it comes to counting fingers and toes.