Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Can a gerund turn a passive sentence to active? (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

vranger

Staff member
Supervisor
Despite the title, I don't feel this as a question for myself.

Since the day I studied copulas and passive voice, I take a close look at any sentence where I'm on the verge of typing "was" (among other things, but "is/are/was/were" are the most common).

I just wrote the phrase "the impact on me was less profound."

I normally think of a copula (a verb with no action attached) leading to passive voice, but the phrase above isn't passive voice. It's certainly not "The eggs were fried by Jenny" sort of stuff.

In "the impact", "impact" is a noun, therefore a gerund. However, it also carries a strong sense of action, and has an object (me) which precedes the copula (was). I decided I could accept this phrase as strong.

bdcharles

Wɾ¡ʇ¡∩9
Staff member
Media Manager
Despite the title, I don't feel this as a question for myself.

Since the day I studied copulas and passive voice, I take a close look at any sentence where I'm on the verge of typing "was" (among other things, but "is/are/was/were" are the most common).

I normally think of a copula (a verb with no action attached) leading to passive voice, but the phrase above isn't passive voice. It's certainly not "The eggs were fried by Jenny" sort of stuff.