Writing Forums

Writing Forums is a privately-owned, community managed writing environment. We provide an unlimited opportunity for writers and poets of all abilities, to share their work and communicate with other writers and creative artists. We offer an experience that is safe, welcoming and friendly, regardless of your level of participation, knowledge or skill. There are several opportunities for writers to exchange tips, engage in discussions about techniques, and grow in your craft. You can also participate in forum competitions that are exciting and helpful in building your skill level. There's so much more for you to explore!

Beauty Queen (1 Viewer)

S

Sgt. Pepper's Girl

This is sort of a ranting essay I wrote not too long ago. I'm not too experienced in writing essays, so be gentle:

Today my sister asked to enter a beauty pageant. She found one of those little brochures advertising for one that someone sent to me. When I got in the mail a couple of days ago, I looked it over, scoffed, made sure no one was looking, flipped off the boldly colored informational literature, and tossed it aside. I should have thrown it away.
If I had been thinking at all I would have none that my sisters, disciples of the television, as I had once been. Whatever the television says is true; real-life is every bit like they say it is on the television. Even though my life is nothing like it, it should be.