Different Seasons

Thread: Different Seasons

Different Seasons

Sort of weird question.

Do you find your writing changes depending on the time of year? In any sense?

I find that I write much darker stuff in the colder months compared to the summer. I also find I tend to want to do more experimental or cerebral material around then and that generally it's a more satisfying time to write.

Holidays and (this year...) election season are incredibly distracting, though, so I tend to find January-March as the best 'writing season'. While I am better about it now, I still find it hard to really churn out word count when it's hot and sunny outside.

I am a more prolific writer during the summer, when I can rise at six in the morning with the sun and work all day.

I seem to be better at editing and finishing things in the fall and winter. Summer is for fun writing and first drafts and new ideas.

Unfortunately, this does not always match my to-do list.
    My website (Hidden Content ) has good essays on starting a book and using metaphoricals.

Sitting in my little shed with the door open and sunshine streaming in seems more conducive to something new, a cold day, snug with the door shut and the heater on seems more like going over ideas in notebooks or re-working stuff that didn't quite work first time around. But I am not sure if that is true or simply the impression I have, I shall start noticing.
    "Give me time I will find out how to delete the duplicates, in the meantime avoid the ones with a date instead of a title."
    I found out how and was discussing it with my technical adviser (Younger daughter) and she said "Why bother? It's obvious anyway and not a problem, and you will lose a few views" . So I didn't.

Stories from just over two minutes to just over sixteen minutes long, listen while you work, my friend listens whilst doing her work e-mails Hidden Content
    Hidden Content

A thread of links useful to writers wishing to learn