How do you show and not tell in your writing?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you show and not tell in your writing?

How do you show and not tell in your writing?

I am having the hardest time showing and telling in my writing. Can someone rewrite the paragraph below and demonstrate how to write by showing not telling?

Before I knew it, my college days were coming to an end and the reality of growing up really started to creep up. Sadly, for me, college came and went just like that. The world around me started to become more and more fast paced and I wasn’t ready to handle what was coming. Because of my irresponsibility and laziness, I had completely overlooked the importance of internships and getting the crucial work experience I needed in order to enter the workforce after graduation. Once I graduated, I had nothing to show but a piece of paper that cost me thousands of dollars. I was a B average student and when it was my time to enter the workforce, it was 2012 and during the height of the financial crisis. Jobs were scarce and this was even more true for recent college graduates who did not possess the years of experience that companies had come to expect. Months went by and I still had no luck in securing a job. The worst part of my job search was that it took months before I even got an interview. I applied to jobs after jobs and not once did I hear back from any of those companies. I started to lose faith in myself and in the American Dream.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by darrenptran View Post
    I am having the hardest time showing and telling in my writing. Can someone rewrite the paragraph below and demonstrate how to write by showing not telling?