A Shadow in the Night Chapter One 1540 Word (Fantasy)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Shadow in the Night Chapter One 1540 Word (Fantasy)

A Shadow in the Night Chapter One 1540 Word (Fantasy)

Hello all. I thought I would post some parts to a fantasy novel I am working on called A Shadow in the Night. It is the first novel in what I am hoping to turn into a three novel set.

Keep in mind when reading this I am a novice writer who never had any training. Just some basic English classes in high school and that was 22 years ago. So if you leave feed back be gentle.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy.

ASHADOW IN THE NIGHT

ONE

Arch Bishop Eycks walked the streets at a hurried pace, he glanced behind him every few minutes to ensure that he was not being followed. Not that anyone would think to follow him, not the way he was dressed. Rather then the rich flowing white robes of his office he wore the foul smelling rags of a beggar. The Arch Bishop leaned against a near by wall, his breath coming in labored gasps. He was not used to traveling such distances at this pace. Most of the time when the church official traveled no matter how short the distance he did so in his ornate carriage. Tonight however he could not afford to draw attention to himself, not when the fate of the church depended on his actions.
    After catching his breath the Arch Bishop went on his way. He took the twisting and turning side streets without fear of getting lost, he had poured over the maps of the city for a week before his journey. Only after making one hundred percent sure that he was not being followed did he male his way to his destination, a run down building with boarded up windows and crumbled masonry. The