How to respond to critique

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: How to respond to critique

How to respond to critique

PULEEEEZE remember, most critiques are not a personal attack, seriously, get over yourself! How are we going to learn and grow as writers if we are constantly offended by any critique that is NOT dripping with empty praise and vain ego massaging. I am a serious writer, I am here to learn, I am not here to have my fragile ego polished... give me a break. If you do not agree with the critique, just say "Thank you for reading " and mooooooove on......
    She lost herself in the trees,
    among the ever-changing leaves.
    She wept beneath the wild sky
    as stars told stories of ancient times.
    The flowers grew toward her light,
    the river called her name at night.
    She could not live an ordinary life,
    with the mysteries of the universe
    hidden in her eyes....
    Author: Christy Ann Martine

Death leaves a heartache no one can heal,
    love leaves a memory no one can steal....
    Author unknown.

Second that...
    The only one who can heal you is you.

"Take this kiss upon the brow!
    This line is kinda cliché and unoriginal...
    and, in parting from you now,
    thus much let me avow-
    you are not wrong who deem** Maybe rework this line... it sounds obscure...
    that my days have been a dream;

Ok, here, Mr. Poe, you are losing me... what hope has flown away ... and why???
    yet if hope has flown away
    in a night or in a day,
    in a vision, or in none,
    is it therefore the less gone?
    All that we see or seem*** LOOOOVE the last 2 lines! You nailed this, Edgar.. I mean Mr. Poe...
    is but a dream within a dream."
    Edgar Allen Poe, The complete stories and Poems