How to gain pieces for a portfolio?

Thread: How to gain pieces for a portfolio?

Blog Entries

How to gain pieces for a portfolio?

Hello I do hope I am posting in the right place...

I wish to become a writer full time (I know it is the dreams of any and many writers) however every job I look at to apply for always states that it requires a portfolio and at least one years experience. Now my dilemma is if you can not get hired without one how do you manage to put a portfolio of published works together.

I am interested in writing both fiction and non-fiction pieces and I have a degree in English Literature.

I also have the restraint that I must work full time while gaining a portfolio because I am the sole money earner in my household. So I can not do volunteer work because I work 9-8 five days a week if not more some weeks.

Any and all suggestions will be welcomed.
    Fancy joining a photgraphy group? The check out the Hidden Content group.

Visit My Blog to get to know me better.Hidden Content Hidden Content A fun group of like minded new writers.
    Hidden Content Hidden Content A place for young writers to talk and chill.

Why not check out the Hidden Content and join in the latest challenge discussions.

Submit pieces everywhere you can. You do not have to be employed as a writer to submit work for publication. There are tons of online magazines, papers, news outlets etc that have submissions. Get your boogie boots on and start writing and submitting.

Fiction and non-fiction are two very different beasts and should be approached differently. You could start building a portfolio of non-fiction works by approaching local and regional newspapers, magazines, and websites with ideas for articles of local interest. Such publications are frequently happy to have area residents write about local news, festivals, sports, hobbies, etc. Pay will be meager to non-existent, but the by-line credit will start building your body of work.