Eventually, I cringe after reading my own work

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eventually, I cringe after reading my own work

Eventually, I cringe after reading my own work

Does anybody else experience the same thing sometimes?

As an aspiring writer, I'm into creative nonfiction.

After finding some source of inspiration to sit down and finish a piece, I read the completed work, feeling somewhat proud and satisfied.

I try to submit it to a publication to share my thoughts. After a month or so, I open my finished pieces on the computer again just for the sake of it and when I read it I can't help but say "WTF DID I ACTUALLY JUST WRITE?!" Seriously, I cringe at some of the pieces I write. There are pieces that remain somewhat good, but the truth remains that some of it are just plain gross to my liking.

Also, I've been published a few times in national and international publications. When the piece first comes out, I feel immensely proud and happy. I feel validated. But then again, after returning to my published pieces after a month or so, I get the same feeling of disgust for not being able to write better. I literally cringe.

I know people might say that it's a sign that I am improving, but I just want to know if this is normal?

Sometimes it makes me feel bad that I can't write at times, thinking I might just hate myself afterwards.

To me, it sounds like a lack of understanding. At first, the idea is fresh in your mind, you know what you wanted, and you achieved it. As time wore on, you forgot the purpose of the piece, and you just ended up confusing yourself. You just need to step back and read your work as a neutral third party.

And yes, it is completely normal for writers to not like, or be uncomfortable with their work, just not to the point of cringing.

Quote Originally Posted by HeightenedState View Post