Crime Scene Question

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crime Scene Question

NEED HELP WITH CRIME SCENE

I have a scene at the start of a chapter where two people are murdered (known to the reader) at night in a workplace (known to the reader). The next morning, the MC goes to work and people are standing outside the building (entrances have yellow tape). Do the police have to notify everyone of who was murdered? Take suspects in right away? Etc.

Question where can I get info about crime scenes and how they're handled by police?
    Last edited by Snowflake; July 27th, 2015 at 02:49 AM.
    Hidden Content Hi! I'm still a newbie. Hidden Content

Well, you can always ask a cop. I'm not 100% sure myself, but I believe cops don't have to tell anyone anything at a crime scene. Otherwise, the press would take serious advantage. But I'm no cop, so don't quote me. I believe some of these regulations and laws also sometimes vary by city or state... so it's best to do some real research in this area.

Though I will say, I'm 99% sure they don't have a time clock on when they have to take suspects in, aside from statue of limitations--which always depends on the crime (in the case of murder, there is no statute). In fact, they don't bring a suspect in until a warrant can be issued, from a judge.
    If you ever need a second set of eyes on your work, PM me for a critique! I'm happy to help Hidden Content

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop View Post
    Well, you can always ask a cop. I'm not 100% sure myself, but I believe cops don't have to tell anyone anything at a crime scene. Otherwise, the press would take serious advantage. But I'm no cop, so don't quote me. I believe some of these regulations and laws also sometimes vary by city or state... so it's best to do some real research in this area.