Crits

Page 1 of 12 12345678911 ... LastLast

Thread: Crits

Crits

Over the last few weeks I have become more than a little confused about critiques.

I assumed that when someone put their work onto the site they wanted to know what others thought of it, how it made them feel and how it could be improved.

Sometimes I don’t have a lot of time, but I will try to comment on a few pieces. When I have more time I will try to do a longer, more detailed critique on a few pieces of work.

I try to find something positive to say about the piece.
    I look out for spelling and grammar mistakes.
    If there are flaws in the logic of the piece I try to explain these.
    If there is something that ‘jars’ me out of the piece I will mention it.
    If there is a sentence that is not doing the job it is supposed to be doing I may suggest a rewrite.

I am not an expert, but I am doing the best that I can, based on my knowledge and experience, to help others. I may not always, although believe me I try, write my comments in the form of suggestion (you might try, I think) but what I write is written with the intention of being helpful.

Before I go on I will say that most of the time when I do a crit the OP says thank you in the thread. Sometimes they ask for a clarification or more help which I am delighted to give.

So what is my problem?

I’ve noticed that some posters get upset with some of the comments, mine and others’, written about their work and criticise the comments or the person who wrote the comments.

Some posters seem to prefer to fight for the validity of the original rather than think seriously about whether the comments given could be valid.

Several times I have seen the equivalent of – “You have no right to change my sentence/my work in this way.”

Several times I have seen OP replies that are the equivalentof – “You haven’t understood the piece, this is your problem not mine. You are at fault.”