Hanging tree inn (adult fiction)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hanging tree inn (adult fiction)

Hanging tree inn (adult fiction)

Hi this is my first attempt at posting my work. This story is going into a booklet for the local library and I am also publishing it on to my web pages, so I need it to be tight.
    I have weaknesses with punctuation and tenses, so grammarians 'Please help!'

Thanks in advance, Trilby

The Hanging Tree Inn

They had been laughing and joking as they crammed their backpacks for the holiday, their enthusiasm and bravado had sent a chill of foreboding throughout my body.

‘A haunted room what nonsense!’ Joe had laughed.
    ‘Just think, 7 o’clock tomorrow morning we will be handed £100 each.’ said Mark.
    ‘£100 for staying overnight in a, so called haunted room and because we are allowed to stay there together it will be easy money… I’d have doubts about staying there on my own though.’ said Brad.
    ‘The problem with you Brad, is your over active imagination. We need the money, struggling students and all that, so tonight you will have to take control of that imagination of yours.’ said Joe.

‘I will… I can… honest. Of course I know there are no such things as ghosts, spirits or poltergeists.’
    I knew different.
    On arrival at ‘The Hanging Tree Inn’ we were met by the landlord Mr Jackson, he led the way up to the haunted room. The building had been modernized with the usual mod cons: central heating, hot and cold running water, flush toilets and double glazing, but the haunted room had none of those things. The room was antiquated, it was heated by a log fire and flickering candles provided the only means of lighting; it felt as if we had travelled through a portal and entered yesteryear.