Sonnets (Being Technical?)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sonnets (Being Technical?)

Sonnets (Being Technical?)

I've been wondering about this for some time. When I was younger, we were taught that a sonnet is a short poem of 14 lines with a particular rhyme-scheme.

Now I'm doing my Bachelor's in the English Language, and this time we went further: that a sonnet has a particular meter as well (iambic pentameter), and the last two lines take a turn - they contain a thought different from the former 12 lines.

I'd written a few poems before. They are of 14 lines with the rhyme-scheme, but they don't follow that particular meter. The last two lines are stronger and more passionate than the previous 12 lines (I hope), but they don't take a turn.

I've become disappointed after I learnt this. Can I call my poems sonnets?
    "The greatest achievement was at first and for a time a dream. The oak sleeps in the acorn, the bird waits in the egg, and in the highest vision of the soul a waking angel stirs. Dreams are the seedlings of realities." ~ James Allen

"Use what talents you possess: the woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best." ~ Henry Van Dyke

I'd say you can call them nontraditional sonnets! In the end it's up to you, how many rules and guidelines you want to stick to. I personally care mostly for good and quality work, rather than technical achievements. A proper sonnet however, should be something in its own right (following all those rules you mentioned), otherwise the defining label would lose its meaning...

They call it the volta, and I don't think it has to come in the last couplet necessarily, I think it can turn at the end of the second quatrain, so you have eight lines posing one point of view and six the other.
    Visit my website to read and connect to my 'soundcloud', where you can listen to stories songs and more
    Hidden Content

A thread of links useful to writers wishing to learn