How long does it take you?

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How long does it take you?

How long does it take you?

I'm new to all this writing goodness, and at my current pace, the novel I want to produce will take years. I know I've got to step it up, but that's not the reason for this post.

How long does it take you to complete a novel, from idea in your head to final draft? I'm sure the answers will vary. It would be helpful to tell whether you're writing professionally or for your personal enjoyment. If you could break the time down into the various phases of writing, that would be even more helpful.

While you're plugging away at a novel, do you do any writing besides? Short stories, other novels, etc.?

I want to get an idea of how others write, and what to expect out of myself. Thanks for your answers!

There's a few members here who have published several novels, and can probably give you good ideas on setting a timeline for novel writing. Myself, a years-long project doesn't scare me, but I write a lot of short stories along the way to keep my stamina up and to refresh the feeling that I'm accomplishing something. It can be a daunting thing to work for so long and still not have something completed in your hands. When I write short fiction, I typically work on it for about a week to produce about 3-6000 words. I'll also work on a poem for about a week usually.

If you look at successful and prolific writers like Stephen King, that machine pumps out like 2 or 3 novels a year. Of course, most of us also have to have jobs at the same time