'This' or 'That'?

Read our latest author interview on Flashes >>HERE<< .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 'This' or 'That'?

'This' or 'That'?

Help! Another newbie here! I'm currently writing a fiction novel (Genre: detective/mystery/suspense). I'm having trouble with a construction that I have seen used many times (by famous writers, including Ken Follett), but one that confuses me. I am wrting in the past tense. Example 1: (my main character has stopped to browse around in a general store) 'He loved to browse around in places like ... do I use 'this' or 'that'? Example 2: 'He was feeling a lot better ... 'that' or 'this' morning? What are the rules or what is generally accepted here? Thank you!

Blog Entries
    Oh! I love detective novels, I look forward to keeping an eye on your progress...

I think grammatically either 'this' or 'that' can be used correctly while keeping to the past tense, but 'that' has always felt better more... pastish. When I see 'this' my brain automatically goes into present tense mode, and it feels clumsy.

Write the paragraph twice, once using each, and see how it flows. See which one you like better.
    Last edited by Adeline Addison; January 17th, 2011 at 07:58 PM. Reason: Need moar coffee.
    "What if we had ideas that could think for themselves? What if, one day, our dreams no longer needed us?"

Hmmm...I don't think I personally use 'this' or 'that' in my stories... Not unless it's character dialogue. In the examples you gave, 'this' and 'that' aren't really needed.
    Example One- He often browsed in such places.
    Example Two- He was feeling a lot better the next morning.

For me, "this" implies immediacy whereas "that" is more distant. I don't think the tense matters much, but the context and whichever feels right. In the example you gave I'd prefer "this" before morning.

Thanks ...