Out-of-date update on my NaNo (2008)

Thread: Out-of-date update on my NaNo (2008)

Out-of-date update on my NaNo (2008)

[NB This is my first attempt at Plain Text: dashes around a word/s indicate italics and asterisks, bold - if they are there! I just hope the paragraph breaks are.]

Hi to everyone in the WF/NaNo gang!

I owe you an explanation. Never did tell you how I was getting on with NaNo, even though I'd discussed it at some length here with dear Raging Hopeful (hope you're reading this RH, I'm grateful to you). It's really good to see so many WFers did well and special congratulations to Moderan who seemed to be way ahead right from the start!

Well, my month was a bit of a sorry saga, I'm afraid. But, like lilacstarflower (see Moderan's thread: "It's over!"), I've learnt a lot and hopefully my fiction-writing will benefit from that in the future. I'll tell you how it went...

My plan had been, as I said to someone on these boards, to "whack-out" a sci-fi idea I'd had about ten years ago and which kept haunting me. But then I realised it would need too much research to be able to do in time; and, besides, science - which I never did at school - was not going to be easy to write.

So, I thought about romance and a little dream I'd had about living in a beautiful house in Italy (I live in a council flat in SE London!) and my son visiting and falling in love with the girl he would marry. I could fictionalise that (it -was- fiction!), add a rival, a priest, a few mobsters and a carer/friend for me (I would be the narrator in my wheelchair, watching and listening in sunny silence!).

But that wasn't to be either: again, lack of knowledge of subject!

Back to the sci-fi. Had a month to go. Started the research and "whacked-out" a 10,000 word outline. I was ready...