PDA

View Full Version : Indie Filmmaking

Sock
November 28th, 2006, 01:49 AM
I am an aspiring filmmaker, and I am just looking for some one who can give me the run down on:

Price range of a roughly 2 hour long film, little to no special effects, written and directed by myself. And, if profit is even possible.
How I get my movie to be seen.
Where to look for cast and crew (other than among friends)Any answer to these questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Kimba
November 28th, 2006, 03:40 AM
What is your location? My forum is looking for scriptwriters, actors, producers etc to help each other out.

Sock
November 28th, 2006, 03:44 AM
I'm located in Southern Ontario, is that your forum there in your Signature? http://forum.ofstageandscreen.net (http://forum.ofstageandscreen.net/)?

Kimba
November 28th, 2006, 04:13 AM
I can't exactly answer the last two but the price for a 2 hours film varies. It usually depends on the complexity of the storyline, setting, cast number, amount of stunts, location shoots, etc.

Yes, it is - that's the URL of my forum. :) The forum is still fairly new [about a month old] but hopefully, it'll help out in some way

mammamaia
November 28th, 2006, 05:44 PM
Price range of a roughly 2 hour long film, little to no special effects, written and directed by myself. And, if profit is even possible.it's impossible for anyone to give you any range, since only you know what the script is, how large a cast it has and what they have to be paid, what equipment you have available at what cost, etc. ...whether you can make a profit will depend on how much it costs and what you're going to do with it... practically, speaking, you're looking at pouring money into a hole and leaving it there, since you would have to market and distribute your film to theaters, in order to make any money at all and then would have to make back your costs, before any profits can be realized... chances of a nobody with no experience doing that are nil to none...