PDA

View Full Version : starting a script

Crazy_dude6662
April 24th, 2005, 01:38 PM
okay well i've never written a script before, so i was wondering how i start, other than the idea bit

mammamaia
April 24th, 2005, 02:56 PM
you start by learning the basics of the craft of screenwriting... this is the most specialized of all the writing arts, so you really do need to study how it's done, before just starting to write scenes...

i'll be glad to send you a 'tools of the trade' list and some tips on the basics, if you email me 'at home'...

love and hugs, maia
[email protected]

ps: keep in mind that for most, it takes years of learning and practice, and writing 7-9 scripts before one gets good enough at it to have a chance of selling anything...

C. William Russette
April 30th, 2005, 12:47 PM
Seven to Nine scripts?

As a comic book writer (and novelist) I really don't see much of a difference between screenplay format and comic script format. Basically it's a matter of learning the new terminology and a slightly different.

Course, I've never written a screenplay. I do intend to adapt my novel and a few comic ideas into screenplays though.

I saw at your site, Maia, that you don't help with violent works. Sadly, I'm a horror and action guy. C'est la vie.

mammamaia
April 30th, 2005, 03:40 PM
what a bummer, c.will!... i'd have enjoyed helping a comic book writer turn screenwriter...

as to the differences, there are quite a few, but the poster here isn't a comic book writer, as far as i know, so my advice was to a complete novice, which he claims to be...

being a novelist [or writer of comics] however, doesn't prepare anyone for writing for film, sorry to say... other than the fact that one should be a good writer, period, before attempting to write screenplays... it's like saying i can walk pretty well, so i should be able to dance the lead in a major ballet...