PDA

View Full Version : Hitman Chronicles-Profound language-1700 words

C.Stone
June 24th, 2018, 03:57 AM
This is my first time ever posting something I've written online. Any criticism or advice is greatly appreciated. I had the idea for this on a long ride home from work. I've been thinking about turning it into a chronicle of short stories involving the same character or maybe even a novel one day. Thanks for reading!

Hitman Chronicles:

"He's dead" a girls voice whispered. She hovered over the body of a man. He was face down, sprawled out in the street. His legs and arms extended like he was in the middle of making a snow angel.

A young man kneeled down near the body and took a deep breath. His breath made thick clouds in the cold air. "Are you sure?" he asked, wiping cold sweat from his forehead.

"Yes I'm sure" she replied sternly, "Can't you see I have my hand on his neck, I’m checking for a pulse. There's nothing".

"We gotta get outta here then" he said. He stood up and started walking backwards towards the sedan that was parked a few yards away. "Come on Hailey" he insisted "No one will ever find out, we just have to go now."

Hailey stared down at the man’s body. Half of his face resting in a puddle of blood. She began to cry and brought her chin to her chest, covering her eyes with her palms. "We can't just leave him here like this" she cried. "This is our fault, it's not right. We need to call the police Jack, it's the right thing to do."

Jack screamed "Have you lost your mind!? We got 30 kilos of dope in the trunk. I had to worry about the pigs the last 600 mile. Now we’re 20 miles from being home free and you want to call the cops over some dead guy no one gives a rats ass about? Look at him! Black trench coat, rusted old mountain bike. He’s a damn drifter for god's sake!” He stood there for a moment looking at her, his arms out to the side looking for agreement.