PDA

View Full Version : How to respond to critique

Firemajic
August 14th, 2017, 07:52 PM
PULEEEEZE remember, most critiques are not a personal attack, seriously, get over yourself! How are we going to learn and grow as writers if we are constantly offended by any critique that is NOT dripping with empty praise and vain ego massaging. I am a serious writer, I am here to learn, I am not here to have my fragile ego polished... give me a break. If you do not agree with the critique, just say "Thank you for reading " and mooooooove on......

escorial
August 14th, 2017, 08:14 PM
Second that...

PiP
August 14th, 2017, 08:16 PM
Well said, Fire :)

Firemajic
August 14th, 2017, 11:51 PM
"Take this kiss upon the brow!
This line is kinda cliché and unoriginal...
and, in parting from you now,
thus much let me avow-
you are not wrong who deem** Maybe rework this line... it sounds obscure...
that my days have been a dream;

Ok, here, Mr. Poe, you are losing me... what hope has flown away ... and why???
yet if hope has flown away
in a night or in a day,
in a vision, or in none,
is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem*** LOOOOVE the last 2 lines! You nailed this, Edgar.. I mean Mr. Poe... ;)
is but a dream within a dream."
Edgar Allen Poe, The complete stories and Poems

Hummmm... interesting Mr. Poe... I thought your first line was ... well, kinda cliché and not very imaginative OR original.... then you wondered off track a little bit and where is your imagery? Nice mood though, I think with a little bit of polishing, you could have a fabulous poem...

Ok, why am I critiquing Edgar Allen Poe? Just to show you that not everyone is going to like everything you write.