PDA

View Full Version : Iambic Pentameter - Write Two Lines

PiP
August 11th, 2017, 09:23 PM
I am studying a poetry theory book by Stephen Fry. One of the exercises in the book is to write single lines and pairs of lines of iambic pentameter which are unrhymed

- That are conversational
- some that are simple
- some more complicated in construction
- silly
- descriptive

If you are a new poet and unfamiliar with iambic pentameter check out Wiki (Iambic pentameter (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iambic_pentameter)) and Poetry Kaleidoscope (http://www.languageisavirus.com/poetry-guide/iambic_pentameter.php#.WY4HyzN9670)

I challenge you to write two lines and share them to this thread. Who's going to be first?

Sebald
August 12th, 2017, 12:38 AM
Everybody else probably understands, but would it be possible to give an example?

Freethesea
August 12th, 2017, 02:32 AM
I've never written a poem before, or at least not since grade school. But I like PIP so at the risk of being completely wrong and appearing somewhat... stupid, here goes.

He promised freedom in a road called sea
With a plan of illusion, and pocket of need

Hey... I should get something for trying and if it isn't a footstep counting pentameter, feel free to start over.

Darren White
August 12th, 2017, 05:55 AM
this morning I forgot to eat my pork
I took it with me on my bike to school

(commiserate excruciating pain
the agonizing disappearance hurts (that one is debatable))

remember always step outside the box
and eat a homemade cheesy roll instead

(oops sorry, that's six, which two shall I keep? I'll delete the rest)

PiP
August 14th, 2017, 12:08 AM
I've never written a poem before, or at least not since grade school. But I like PIP so at the risk of being completely wrong and appearing somewhat... stupid, here goes.

Hey, don't worry. Iambic pentameter is harder than it looks.

He prom/ised free/dom in/ a road/ called sea

This one is correct