PDA

View Full Version : Heartache 101 - Keika scene draft (~1400 words)

watermark
January 29th, 2017, 04:47 PM
Long story short, due to a promise, I need to write a Japanese high school romance. Of the young adult sweet romance (i.e. no explicit action :p) variety, so I think it probably fits here better than the steamier Romance section. I've never done a love story before but it's been fun! Two things:

1. I am not Japanese and have only been to Japan a few times. All my references are from anime, TV dramas, and internet research. Best I can do. So if I make any cultural mistakes feel free to correct me.
2. Below is a scene near the middle of the story where the MC meets with love interest Keika. Please critique freely. The reason I’m posting is to improve so any criticism is welcome! Thanks so much!

It takes me a while to find the pool and I arrive much later than I wanted to. Still, I think I have time to get in a few strokes before the place closes. I change quickly and head out to the pool area. The pool looks even better than the online pictures, which is usually not the case. It’s dazzling and shiny with a faint smell of chlorine. The best thing is their online promotion event appears to be a total failure, because there’s not too many people at all. I was worried this place might be packed today, but I guess I was one of the few people who saw the ad. This is great!

Down by the pool there’s a small group of high school students, a few old men treading water, and a girl wrapped in a towel. A bored lifeguard is reading a magazine on his highchair, sparing the occasional mandatory glance at the pool. I walk down toward the pool to do some warm up and stretching.

The girl in the towel looks my way. I do a double take. Is that Keika? It’s definitely her alright. She sees me, smiles, and waves me over.