PDA

View Full Version : 'The Wishing Star' - public novel exercise

eefraoula
June 26th, 2016, 03:19 AM
Any critique is welcome - I'm a little rusty. Also, forgive the formatting - like I said, I'm new at this.

The Wishing Star

Through the frosted glass of the cockpit window, countless stars glittered in the dark sky. As the spaceship's pilot strapped herself into her seat, she kept her eyes directed outwards. From her point of view, the stars appeared to be winking at her. She smiled at the thought.

There was no sound in the cabin, aside from the clip and snap of the last few buckles being secured. Stel reclined into her seat and gazed out into space. She enjoyed this time of day most of all, these stolen moments before daybreak when she could feel her body slip away as her thoughts floated out and into the ether.

Behind the pilot's seat, the door to the cockpit suddenly slammed open, breaking the peaceful silence. Stel huffed out a sigh, her short-lived seclusion slipping away. The clamor of the ship's crew flooded through the doorway: feet slamming on the metallic floors and echoing down the corridors, the shouts of officers directing crewmen to their posts. The pilot glanced over her shoulder.In the doorway stood a tall and slender man with a long, stern face, his expression cold and empty. In his right hand, he held a tall white mug that spewed a soft spiral of steam into the air. When he met Stel's eyes, he flinched in surprise. “Hmph! Officer Harmon,” he grunted. “I see you've already settled in.”

Stel grinned at the man and then swiftly returned her attention to the front. “Yeah, well, someone's got to get things moving, right?” The man cleared his throat and slammed the cabin door behind him.

“Officer Harmon, you know perfectly well that this is precisely the reason why your apprenticeship has been extended. The examination board does not reward this defiant sort of behavior.”