PDA

View Full Version : Out Here (Concept, ~400 words)

AtleanWordsmith
September 22nd, 2015, 03:05 PM
Just toying around with a concept. As I flesh it out a bit more, I'll be telling the story through my blog. This may or may not be a bit of a self-insert story, so you should probably know that before you read, in case you're automatically turned off by that kind of thing. It's an experiment that I've never tried before, so... it'll be interesting to see how it turns out. I also plan to get back to my other stories eventually. Inspiration comes and goes, one day I'll actually complete a project. Until then, enjoy!

"How much further?"

"I don't know."

"I think that thing's broken."

"It's still glowing, means she's somewhere out there."

"Friends!"

"Oh, good, you know a word. Shut up, already."

"Friends!"

"Please tell it to shut up."

Three figures appeared in the fog. The first was a young man with the rough shape of a pear. A soft glow emanated from the crystal in his hand. The second, about half his height before the rabbit ears, was a robot whose white plastic shell was pitted and dented in places. Aside from the ears, it could have passed for a decent spaceman. A large orange circle moved about its face as if it were scanning the environment around them.

There wasn't anything to see, of course, they'd been walking across the flat, rocky expanse for ages, blinded by the thick fog. It was a situation that the third member of their party took great pleasure in complaining about. He was a stocky tomcat with malevolent eyes, who called himself the Admiral.

"I'm not going to tell him to shut up," the young man said, tucking the crystal back into his pocket, "Besides, nobody's forcing you to stick around."

"Yeah, but if I went, you'd be completely lost," the Admiral said, "I'm not going to be responsible for that."