PDA

View Full Version : The Intruder

TheWonderingNovice
August 16th, 2015, 12:03 PM
It's my first attempt at humor so here goes nothing.

The Intruder

It was a hot Summer night and I had finally found the right position to sleep in when I got a phone call from my sister.

"This better not be another drunk dial or I swear I'll -"

"Oh thank God you answered! You have to come over right now."
She sounded distressed.

"Are you okay? Did something happen?"

"There's an intruder in the house. He came in through the window in the living room."

"Wait, slow down."

"There's no time. I need you, I'm scared."

Then she hangs up. I immediately got into the car and drove. I made the thirty minute trip in fifteen. I stepped out of the car baseball bat in hand. I knocked on her window but it was too late. I heard her scream and several thumps. I broke the window and jumped in.

My sister was on the floor crying in the fetal position.

"Where's the bastard!"

"I tried to hold him off, but he was just... He went into the bathroom."

I helped her up, making sure that the he hadn't hurt her. We both crept slowly to the bathroom in the hall. Her finger nails dug into my shoulders. I turned the door knob, my heart racing in anticipation. The door creaked as it opened slowly. It was worse than I thought.

Hiding in the tub was the intruder. The most vile creation to walk the earth, Satan's pet - a Palmetto bug.

"Kill it!" She screamed in my ear.

"Relax I got this. Looks like it's time to pull out the big guns"

I dropped the bat and go for my flip flop.

"Stay back, this could get messy."

I blocked off all his exits.

"Its the end of the line for you, buddy."

I swing the flip flop but I'm too late. The creature climbed the tiled wall and spreads his wings. There was no time for retreat. It's the end.

"Save yourself."

The END

qwertyman
August 16th, 2015, 01:48 PM