PDA

View Full Version : The Queen of the Cuisine [3,300 words, mild language]

troughs
July 9th, 2015, 02:14 PM
This is my first time posting a piece for critique, so please be as honest and unforgiving as possible. If the piece excites you, or bores you, or makes you laugh, or cry, please let me know. Any comments will be greatly appreciated. :sunny:

---

Gracefully, majestic Irena ascended the steps to the golden podium carrying steady nerves and a carefully wrought smile. There must have been a thousand people here in the crowd – maybe even a million? Too many to count, altogether. Some cried frenzied tears of joy but the majority stood quietly entranced, waiting for the words that would affirm their lives, for the message they so desperately craved. Air horns horned in the air and men whistled between their teeth, as men often do. Children aiming to please their parents held purple banners high above their heads, on which were printed the name of their ruler. Irena scanned the masses for some sign of her location, but each direction she turned to was blanketed by a tapestry of eager faces. Never mind – it didn't really matter; right now, all eyes were focused on Irena, standing erect and prim as a roman pillar. Her people were waiting.

She cleared her throat and projected:

'The purple on those banners must go.'

Her voice boomed deeply, deeper than it normally did, which gave it the effect of being spoken through a megaphone as it scurried towards the far edges of the crowd.

'What an awful colour.'