PDA

View Full Version : Dawn: Salder's Legacy (working title) ~2,000 words

EricStevenJ.
March 18th, 2015, 11:50 PM
Hello, and thank you for checking out part 1 to the first chapter of my work in progress!

As an aspiring writer, I'm always low on feedback, so I joined WF very recently, and am looking forward to building a rapport with members of this community.

If you choose to read this, I ask only one thing... please be honest.

Like any writer, yes, I'm passionate about my work, but I have a very thick skin and am not married to it. What's the point of writing for an audience if you're unwilling to make adjustments for them?

Writer's note - my primary interest is whether or not you were hooked. Imagine being at the bookstore, and you have that gut reaction to a book you pick up... that point where you decide, I want to keep reading, or you put the book down and move on. I want that honesty. What worked, what didn't, why and why not?

And thank you for reading!

Short synopsis: After a lifetime of selfish pursuits, Tharon is confronted with the death of his brother, and the realization that he must now take up a cause he never believed in.

Chapter summary: Tharon plays Adrien’s game.

Chapter 1: Betrayal
Sitting at my desk, my head jolts toward the bay window. The gale screeches through the old Finnish forest, distracting me from my research. Trees wave beyond the river, begging me to go for a hunt, but the evening’s work is incomplete.

The area’s not what it once was, but the old house Salder and I built here is one of few places I still consider home.

A loud crash echoes through the candle-lit hall as I watch Adrien burst through the front door. Out of breath and dripping wet, he sheds his coat on the wood floor.

Dimming my laptop, I leave my desk to store his overcoat next to mine.