PDA

View Full Version : Chapter 1 To My Novel, WARNING: Adult themes + language.

sparks81292
July 26th, 2014, 06:36 PM
It's my first time... be gentle.
Chapter 1:
“drown"
drɑʊn. Verb
1. to die by being under water and unable to breathe, or to kill someone by causing this to happen
2. to have or experience too much of something. “
-Cambridge American-English dictionary.

John looked again at his watch, reassuring himself that his wife would indeed not be back in the next 10 minutes. He double checked his pockets for hand sanitizer and gum and then pulled out the forbidden cigarette. Overexcited, he took too big of a drag, and coughed a bit. He laughed and walked towards the lake in front of his condo. This was Irvine, Southern California, of course the lake was man-made but that didn’t bother him, in fact he didn’t even think it made the lake any less pristine or calming. Just different. A few minutes passed and suddenly there was a loud splash that made John jump.
He turned and saw a disturbance in the water about 30 meters to his left. This lake is pretty nasty, he thought, whatever if a couple teenagers want to get weird bacterial infections that is fine by me. He resumed consuming his delicious little cigarette and let his mind wander as he paced. About a minute went by, and John noticed that he hadn’t heard any further splashing and grew uneasy. He decided to investigate and started walking towards the spot where the noise had come from.
There was definitely something in the water, it looked like a garbage bag but as John got closer he realized it was a person. He froze.
“Hello?” he called.
“HELLO?”